Monday, September 23, 2019 11:30:00 AM

Important information

Over the past few weeks, the financial viability of British travel operator Thomas Cook had become very uncertain. Thomas Cook UK Plc and associated UK entities have now entered Compulsory Liquidation and are now under the control of the Official Receiver.

This event is now widely reported in the media, and any policies that may offer cover for the risk of financial default of any nature will no longer offer cover for claims that arise from the company becoming insolvent or falling into administration for policies purchased after:

  • 1:30am UTC/GMT on Monday 23 September 2019
  • 11:30am AEST on Monday 23 September 2019
  • 1:30pm NZST on Monday 23 September 2019

Note: Not all travel insurance policies issued by nib Travel Services (Australia) Pty Ltd offer cover for the risk of financial default. Please read your policy wording for full details of cover.

If your travel plans are affected:

  1. Contact your airline, cruise or tour operator to check if tourist services are affected.
  2. If you need to change your travel arrangements, contact your airline, cruise company or travel agent for assistance in the first instance. Refer to your policy wording for more details or contact our Customer Service Centre to discuss your plans before making any changes.
  3. In the event of a claim covered by your policy, you must do everything you can to minimise and reduce the cost of the claim and provide all supporting documentation of the event and expenses incurred. If you intend to submit a claim, please complete the claim form and if you need help doing th

Customer service

1300 843 843 from Australia or +61 2 8263 0483 from Overseas.

Monday to Friday
8:00am - 8:00pm

Saturday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Sunday
Closed


Emergencies

Call +61 2 8256 1523 - Worldwide 24/7