Friday, December 27, 2019 1:30:00 PM

(Advice as at 1.30pm AEDT on Friday 27 December 2019)

Various government agencies and news outlets have advised that Tropical Cyclone Sarai is expected to make landfall in Fiji today, possibly escalating to a Category 2 cyclone, with heavy winds and rain continuing. Various airlines have already rearranged and/or cancelled flights in and out of Fiji and may continue to do so over the coming days.

This cyclone event is now widely reported in the media, and any policies that may offer cover for cancellation or delay of travel will no longer offer cover for policies purchased after:

  • 9:00pm UTC/GMT on Thursday, 26 December 2019
  • 8:00am AEDT on Friday, 27 December 2019
  • 10:00am NZDT/FJDST on Friday, 27 December 2019

Note: Cover offered by travel insurance policies issued and managed by nib Travel Services (Australia) Pty may vary. Please read your policy wording for full details of cover.

If your travel plans are affected:

  1. Contact your airline, cruise or tour operator to check if tourist services are affected.
  2. If you need to change your travel arrangements, contact your airline, cruise company or travel agent for assistance in the first instance. Refer to your policy wording for more detail or contact our Customer Service Centre to discuss your plans before making any changes.
  3. In the event of a claim covered by your policy, you must do everything you can to minimise and reduce the cost of the claim and provide all supporting documentation of the event and expenses incurred. If you intend to submit a claim, please complete the claim form and if you need help doing this, contact us.

Customer service

1300 843 843 from Australia or +61 2 8263 0483 from Overseas.

Monday to Friday
8:00am - 8:00pm

Saturday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Sunday
Closed


Emergencies

Call +61 2 8256 1523 - Worldwide 24/7